It’s opera, doc! With guns! And harmonicas!

Just a quick post to complement my “Hello world!” entry. Me and my ladylove just watched Sergio Leone’s Once Upon a Time in the West. I’d forgotten just how much Leone indulges in the sheer, unapologetic over-the-top grandiosity of his movie. The style’s so easily recognisable and even more easily parodied, it shouldn’t work… but it does. Boy, does it work. It’s archetypical, operatic, and oh-so-watchable. If you have time (and have seen the film before – I wouldn’t want to spoil the ending for you otherwise), check out this video, containing the entire showdown:

Leone’s way of building up tension until it’s almost unbearable, and then releasing it in short bursts of violence, is masterful. I’ll definitely have to get my girl to watch The Good, the Bad and the Ugly with me one of those days…

(Having said all this, though, I must say that Leone’s sexual politics, in this film but even more in Once Upon a Time in America, are pretty hard to swallow these days. I mean, check out this quote: “You know what? If I was you, I’d go down there and give those boys a drink. Can’t imagine how happy it makes a man to see a woman like you. Just to look at her. And if one of them should pat your behind, just make believe it’s nothing. They earned it.” Yeah, right. The guys out there in the sand have worked hard, so they’ve earned the right to paw you. Sure, no prob…)

3 thoughts on “It’s opera, doc! With guns! And harmonicas!

  1. onions September 22, 2007 / 11:27 pm

    Yay! I’m the first to comment!
    Welcome to the blogging world and I look forward to reading it.

    The design’s lovely.

  2. Ade September 27, 2007 / 11:29 am

    Dammit! Now I have to go home and watch Once upon a time in (America + the West) yet again… could you please not mention any long films on my top-n-list before consulting my agenda? Thanks…

  3. thirithch September 27, 2007 / 11:49 am

    You know, I think I can live with you having to watch OUATITW (try saying that ten times fast!) again. And after all, the film isn’t even three hours long – wait ’till I bully you into watching the Lord of the Rings trilogy again. Extended Editions, of course!

Leave a Reply

